Sunday, March 22, 2009

In My Mailbox (11)

Alea was the inspiration for Kristi to start In My Mailbox, thanks you two!

I had a decent week.

Say The Word by Jeannine Garsee
Dredging up the past can knock the present right off balance.The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing. Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.

I've read this already, it was . . . interesting. I got this one for review.

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more. In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

This is actually a repeat copy, I already had bought a copy from Amazon. I was excited to read this but after reading Leaving Paradise my hopes kind of crashed. But now I still have it for review, so I'll have to read it.

Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
Scarlett Martin has grown up in a most unusual way. Her family owns the Hopewell, a small hotel in the heart of New York City. Her nineteen-year-old brother, Spencer, is an out of work actor facing a family deadline to get his career in order. Eighteen-year-old Lola has the delicate looks of a model, the practical nature of a nurse, and a wealthy society boyfriend. Eleven-year-old Marlene is the family terror with a tragic past.
When the Martins turn fifteen, they are each expected to take over the care of a suite in the once elegant, now shabby Art Deco hotel. For Scarlett’s fifteenth birthday, she gets both a room called the Empire Suite, and a permanent guest named Mrs. Amberson. Scarlett doesn’t quite know what to make of this C-list starlet, world traveler, and aspiring autobiographer who wants to take over her life. And when she meets Eric, an astonishingly gorgeous actor who has just moved to the city, her summer takes a second unexpected turn.
With Mrs. Amberson calling the shots, Spencer’s career to save, Lola’s love life to navigate around, and Marlene’s prying eyes everywhere, things won’t be easy. Before the summer is over, Scarlett will have to survive a whirlwind of thievery, Broadway glamour, romantic missteps, and theatrical deception.
The show, as they say, must always go on . . . .

I got this one from the YA Book Swap started by Carol. I'm borrowing this from the awesome Sarah. Thanks Sarah! I have like 80 pages left to read.

Cycler by Lauren McLaughlin
AS FAR AS anyone at her high school knows, Jill McTeague is an average smart girl trying to get her dream date to ask her to the prom. What no one knows, except for Jill’s mom and dad, is that for the four days Jill is out of school each month, she is not Jill at all. She is Jack, a genuine boy—complete with all the parts. Jack lives his four days per month in the solitude of Jill’s room. But his personality has been building since the cycling began. He is less and less content with his confinement and his cycles are becoming more frequent. Now Jill’s question about the prom isn’t who she'll go with, but who she'll be when the big night arrives.

I won this one is a contest at Mrs. Magoo Reads. It's a personalized signed copy! The only thing is the the binding of it got messed up somehow . . .

PS--- Do you want to learn a way to win FAIRY TALE by Cyn Balog? A SIGNED copy? And a cute fortune cookie necklace? CLICK HERE for details on this contest Cyn is holding!

9 comments:

  1. I don't know about Leaving Paradise, but I enjoyed Perfect Chemistry, thought it was a cute read for a day when you just wanted to believe in the power of true love conquering. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I didn't read Leaving Paradise, but Perfect Chemistry was amazing (if you like boy hates girl, girl hates boy, boy and girl get over that and realize they actually like each other)! I would highly recommend it :) It's almost like Save The Last Dance, if you enjoy that movie but without the dancing. ;)

    I try to generally give authors a second chance (maybe a third, if I'm feeling generous) if the first book I read was a flop. That way, I can say that I read 2 of their books and they're just not for me...

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've thought about picking up Perfect Chemistry but have held off. :) Nice books! Say the Word made me "grrrrrr" haha

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved Perfect Chemistry it had a good mixture of everything in a book between the whole love story with humor to what's going to happen next. I have Leaving Paradise in my TBR pile, but I haven't heard the best reviews on it.

    I've seen Say the World on a few blogs and it looks really good!

    --Amber

    ReplyDelete
  5. Cycler and Suite Scarlet are both really good!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh Perfect Chemistry. I'm a big fan of that book, and look forward to your review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. oh those are great books. I've been wanting to read Perfect chemistry (especially after seeing the trailer LMAO) and cycler looks really good too!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Woot! Aren't you loving Scarlett?
    I love Say the Word... it is amazing.

    ReplyDelete

Good? Bad? Ugly? I don't care as long as you tell me!

(P.S. You might have to double click.)